- Helping you drive happy

Four champions decided at Saskatoon's Auto Clearing Motor Speedway

From Auto Clearing Motor Speedway

There was no shortage of that competitive spirit Saturday afternoon at Saskatoon’s Auto Clearing Motor Speedway as four divisions ran their final race meets of the 2013 season.

A solid afternoon for the No. 33 Super truck of Jamie McClennon of Wainwright ensured he was going home with his fifth Big Bore Super Truck Racing Series championship in a row. Jamie timed in fastest, won both his heat races and finished off a perfect day with the 100 lap feature win as well. The No. 76 of Dusty O'Connell of Lloydminster was second in the feature, while the No. 81 of Calgary's Dexter Hucul was third.

Mike Czaja of Stony Plain won the super trucks Heat B while No. 2 Brian Sparks of Edgerton took the win in Heat D.

We don't have the final points for the Sask Legends available yet, but it would appear the No. 2 of Kerry Neufeld from Saskatoon hung on to win the Legends Masters division. It's a nail biter waiting for the results in the Legends Pro division. Warman's No. 21 Blake Erb came into the day with a 15 point lead over the No. 13 Chelsey Wilson from Elrose.

Blake timed in two spots ahead of Chelsey and finished the first heat one spot ahead of Wilson. Erb had three spots on Wilson in the second heat, but then retired early from the Sask Legends feature due to an engine oil leak. That saw the No. 13 of Chelsey Wilson finishing third in the feature, to Erb's 13th place finish.

Jerry Sabine of Medicine Hat picked up the first Legends heat win, with the No. 2 of Saskatoon's Kerry Neufeld grabbing the second and fourth heat. Blake Erb was first to the line in the third heat. The No. 20 of Darrell Buckingham from Calgary took the checkered flag home in the Sask Legends feature race.

In FFUN Trailer and Marine Pro Truck action, the No. 93 of Neil Schneider picked up the win in the first heat while the No. 01 of Alex Leschenko did likewise in the second heat. Kevin Dyck won the first qualifier in the No. 10 pro truck, with the No. 19 of Aaron Anderson winning the second qualifier.

The No. 67 of Ken Ross had a one point lead coming into the day. Going into the feature, Aaron Anderson had a one point lead over Ross. Anderson would have to finish one spot ahead of Ross at the front of the field, or two spots ahead further back to hang on and win the pro truck championship.

Anderson and Ross were starting side by side on the last row. Ross got out ahead of Anderson and had a couple of positions on him by 10 laps in. By this point the trucks were working through slower traffic, coming up on the No. 44 of Craig Katelnikoff who was in the process of being lapped.

Anderson and Katelnikoff had traded a couple of hits earlier in the day, a carryover of some on track antics last week in the Martensville A&W 100. Katelnikoff was determined to not let Anderson pass him and blocked him several times as Anderson tried to go high and low around him. Anderson finally had enough giving Katelnikoff a shot coming out of corner three, spinning him and driving by.

The flagmen had seen enough though and quickly brought out the black flag disqualifying both the No. 19 of Aaron Anderson and the No. 44 of Craig Katelnikoff. Anderson's hopes of a championship trophy just went down the tubes.

Ken Ross went on to win the race and the championship as Anderson managed to hang onto second place in the championship and win rookie of the year, four points ahead of the No. 10 of Kevin Dyck.

As for the FFUN Trailer and Marine feature race, the No. 15 of Andrew Hardy crossed the line second, but was then DQ'd for failing to report to technical inspection. No. 12 Aaron Deagnon was third.

It was a little quieter, but not by much, in the Midwest Combustion Sportsman action. Matthew Shirley was trying to make up a 11 point deficit in points to steal the trophy away from the No. 04 of Tim Kammer.

Matthew got a good start, winning the Midwest Combustion Sportsman heat race, with Kammer in fourth. The roles were reversed in the qualifier though as Kammer took the win and Shirley was fourth. Shirley was mathematically eliminated from winning the championship as long as Tim Kammer started the feature.

Shirley didn't give up though and the No. 12 took the win for the Midwest Combustion feature race. No. 77 Shane James was second, with No. 04 Tim Kammer claiming third. No. 04 Tim Kammer from Moose Jaw hangs on for the Midwest Combustion Sportsman championship, seven points ahead of Matthew Shirley.

Next week wraps up division racing as the Budget Car and Truck Rental Street Stocks hit the track along with the PartSource Mini Stocks and the Dakota Dunes Western Canada Super Late Model Championship Series.

In the mini stocks, No. 13 Tristan Ransom has a 47 point lead over No. 92 Brennan Kirton. In the street stocks, No. 88 Brad Wrennick has a 52 point lead over No. 36 Darryl Potts. The math wizards predict both Ransom and Wrennick will win, provided they start all three races next week.

2011 still haunts Wrennick though as he was in the same position, guaranteed the championship as long as he started all three races. He played it safe all night, but when it came time for the feature, horror of all horrors, his car wouldn't start. Not able to take the green flag, Mike Schroeder slipped past him for the championship.

The final race for the Dakota Dunes WCSLM series, the WSSL Auto Parts 150 promises to be exciting. Edmonton's 17-year-old Denver Foran holds a 13 point lead over veteran Saskatoon racer Greg Vangool. Jim Gaunt sits another dozen points back in third.

A large field of cars is expected as cars from Saskatchewan, Alberta and the United States have all confirmed their registrations for the race.

Front gates open at 12:30, with the first green flag at 2:05 p.m. on Saturday, September 21. Note this is again an afternoon race.