- Helping you drive happy

Indy Lights: Fontana podium seals 2013 title for Sage Karam

Sage Karam was able to secure the 2013 Indy Lights championship despite finishing third at the season's finale at Fontana while Carlos Munoz won the event.

Carlos Munoz took the lead ahead of Gabby Chaves early on, and, after that it was more a cat and mouse game between the two leaders. In the end, Munoz took his fourth win of the year.

Karam, meanwhile, was aware that third would be enough for him to secure the crown regardless, and was largely content to sit a second or so behind the lead pair to preserve his position. His final margin over Chaves was 11 points.

Polesitter Zach Veach finished fourth in front of Jorge Goncalvez.

Results - 50 laps
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1. Carlos Munoz Andretti 32m09.7580s
2. Gabby Chaves Schmidt +0.9966s
3. Sage Karam Schmidt +4.7697s
4. Zach Veach Andretti +7.2450s
5. Jorge Goncalvez Belardi +11.7835s
6. Juan Pablo Garcia Belardi +32.5430s
7. Giancarlo Serenelli Belardi +1 lap
8. Kyle O'Gara Schmidt +1 lap
9. Jack Hawksworth Schmidt +7 laps