- Helping you drive happy

IndyCar: Will Power on pole for Fontana finale

Team Penske's Will Power took pole position for Saturday's IndyCar season finale at Fontana, while both title contenders Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon (Ganasi) finished respectively 2nd and 7th.

But Castroneves and Dixon will start only 12th and 17th, as both were hit by 10-place grid penalty for unapproved engine changes.

AJ Allmendinger, called in by Penske to drive a third car, finished third fastest despite not having driven an IndyCar since Detroit in June.

Sebastien Bourdais (Dragon Racing) set the fourth fatest time in front of Ganassi's Charlie Kimball and Rahal Letterman Lanigan's James Jakes.

Alex Tagliani, who is standing in for the injured Dario Franchitti at Ganassi, posted the 13th fastest time.

IndyCar Fontana round - Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team/Engine Speed
1. Will Power Penske/Chevy 220.775
2. Helio Castroneves Penske/Chevy 219.677*
3. AJ Allmendinger Penske/Chevy 218.894
4. Sebastien Bourdais Dragon/Chevy 218.513
5. Charlie Kimball Ganassi/Honda 217.986
6. James Jakes Rahal/Honda 217.979
7. Scott Dixon Ganassi/Honda 217.979*
8. Marco Andretti Andretti/Chevy 217.958
9. Ed Carpenter Carpenter/Chevy 217.932
10. Josef Newgarden Fisher/Honda 217.871*
11. James Hinchcliffe Andretti/Chevy 217.798
12. Tony Kanaan KV/Chevy 217.566
13. Alex Tagliani Ganassi/Honda 217.419
14. Carlos Munoz Andretti/Chevy 217.050
15. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti/Chevy 216.898
16. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt/Honda 216.447
17. Oriol Servia Panther/Chevy 216.213
18. Graham Rahal Rahal/Honda 216.106*
19. JR Hildebrand Herta/Honda 215.967
20. Tristan Vautier Schmidt/Honda 215.207
21. Simona de Silvestro KV/Chevy 214.679
22. Sebastian Saavedra Dragon/Chevy 213.262*
23. Justin Wilson Coyne/Honda
24. Pippa Mann Coyne/Honda
25. Takuma Sato Foyt/Honda*

*Will get a 10-place grid penalty