- Helping you drive happy

NASCAR: Jeff Gordon takes 4th win of 2014 at Dover


Jeff Gordon took the checkered flag in Sunday's AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway, but four other drivers got the axe in the first Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup elimination race in the history of the sport.

AJ Allmendinger, 2004 series' champion Kurt Busch, Greg Biffle and Aric Almirola missed the cut for the next round of the Chase, as the field was pared from 16 drivers to 12 following the third and final Challenger Round race.

Jeff Gordon fighting against Kyle Larson. (
Jeff Gordon fighting against Kyle Larson. (Photo: Getty Images for NASCAR)

After the dominant car of polesitter Kevin Harvick had a major issue with the left front wheel on lap 254 of 400, Gordon took control of the event on lap 305, passing runner-up Brad Keselowski for the lead on lap 305.

After a cycle of green-flag pit stops, Gordon led the last 71 laps, pulling away to win by a comfortable 4.352 seconds.

Jimmie Johnson ran third, followed by Joey Logano and Matt Kenseth, as all of the top-five drivers advanced to the Contender Round, a three-race elimination with visits to Kansas Speedway, Charlotte Motor Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway.

Only 12 drivers can now clinch the 2014 driver’s title:

Brad Keselowski
Joey Logano
Kevin Harvick
Jimmie Johnson
Jeff Gordon
Kyle Busch
Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
Matt Kenseth
Ryan Newman
Carl Edwards
Denny Hamlin
Kasey Kahne

Jeff Gordon celebrates in Dover.
Jeff Gordon celebrates in Dover. (Photo: Getty Images for NASCAR)