- Helping you drive happy

USSC: Honda sweeps Indy front row

Defending Brickyard Grand Prix winner Ryan Dalziel took first TUDOR United SportsCar Championship pole of the year.

Ryan Dalziel and Johannes van Overbeek swept the front row in qualifying for Friday’s TUDOR United SportsCar Championship Brickyard Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Dalziel piloted the No. 1 HPD ARX-03b/Honda to a best lap of 1 minute, 17.603 seconds (113.145 mph) to take his first TOTAL Pole Award of the year. Extreme Speed Motorsports teammate Van Overbeek, who gave the team its first TUDOR Championship pole and teamed with Ed Brown for their first win at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, qualified second at 1:17.879 (112.744 mph).

Gustavo Yacaman, who picked up his first career TUDOR Championship victory two weeks ago at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, qualified third in the No. 42 OAK Racing Morgan/Nissan with a lap of 1:17.908 (112.702 mph). Yacaman is joined this weekend by co-driver Ho-Pin Tung.

Christian Fittipaldi qualified fourth in the No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP with a lap of 1:18.102 (112.422 mph), followed by Richard Westbrook in the No. 90 Racing Corvette DP at 1:18.188 (112.299 mph).

Former Formula 1 driver Giancarlo Fisichella put his Ferrari F458 Italia on pole in the GT Le Mans class.