- Helping you drive happy

IndyCar: Charlie Kimball breaks the ice at Mid-Ohio

Ganassi’s Charlie Kimball took advantage from some good strategy to take his maiden IndyCar victory this Sunday at Mid-Ohio.

Contrary to most of the front-runners, who had opted for a two-stop strategy, Kimball took a three-stop approach which put him head to head with Schmidt’s Simon Pagenaud, who was on a similar strategy.

But in the final stop, because of lapped traffic, Pagenaud was able to move in front of Kimball but a nice move at the Esses allowed Kimball to re-pass Pagenaud on the same lap, and before long he had built a lead that extended to 5.5 seconds at the finish.

IndyCar Charlie Kimball
Charlie Kimball. (Photo: IndyCar)

Pagenaud crossed the line in second, while Kimball’s teammate Dario Franchitti was a distant third ahead of Team Penske’s Will Power, who was first of the drivers to have two-stopped.

Pole sitter Ryan Hunter-Reay was fifth, while series’ points leader Helio Castroneves claimed sixth.

Series debutants James Davison and Luca Filippi finished 15th and 16th respectively.

Results - 90 laps:

Pos  Driver  Team/Engine   Time/Gap

1. Charlie Kimball  Ganassi/Honda  1h43m29.1371s
2. Simon Pagenaud  Schmidt/Honda  +5.5334s
3. Dario Franchitti   Ganassi/Honda  +28.8735s
4. Will Power   Penske/Chevy  +42.5032s
5. Ryan Hunter-Reay  Andretti/Chevy  +46.3449s
6. Helio Castroneves  Penske/Chevy  +48.3249s
7. Scott Dixon  Ganassi/Honda  +48.5496s
8. Justin Wilson   Coyne/Honda   +49.0431s
9. Marco Andretti   Andretti/Chevy   +49.5609s
10. James Hinchcliffe  Andretti/Chevy   +49.9283s
11. Simona de Silvestro  KV/Chevy   +50.4925s
12. Sebastien Bourdais  Dragon/Chevy  +54.1360s
13. James Jakes  Rahal/Honda   +54.6693s
14. Oriol Servia  Panther/Chevy  +1m04.6395s
15. James Davison  Coyne/Honda  +1m05.4079s
16. Luca Filippi   Herta/Honda   +1m09.0090s
17. EJ Viso  Andretti/Chevy   +1 lap
18. Graham Rahal  Rahal/Honda  +1 lap
19. Sebastian Saavedra  Dragon/Chevy  +1 lap
20. Ed Carpenter  Carpenter/Chevy  +1 lap
21. Tristan Vautier  Schmidt/Honda   +1 lap
22. Takuma Sato   Foyt/Honda   +1 lap
23. Josef Newgarden  Fisher/Honda   +2 laps

Tony Kanaan   KV/Chevy  64 laps