- Helping you drive happy

IndyCar: Ryan Hunter-Reay leads the way at Mid-Ohio

Andretti Autosport's Ryan Hunter-Reay set the fastest lap time during the IndyCar test day that took place at Mid-Ohio Wednesday.

Unfortunately, the weather did hampered the activities on the track especially in the morning but once conditions improved, Hunter-Reay was able to set a best time of 1m05.6358.

Frenchman Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt) was second while Team Penske’s ace Will Power came close behind.

IndyCar newcomers, James Davison (Dale Coyne Racing) and Luca Filippi (Herta) had their chance to get acquainted with their new surroundings; the Australian finishing 21st while the former GP2 driver was 17th.

Teams were able to test a new aluminum steering arm, which has been released by Dallara in an effort to minimise the likelihood of hand and wrist injuries in certain types of accidents.

IndyCar Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport
Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport. (Photo: IndyCar)

Pos   Driver  Team/Engine   Time   Gap  Laps
1. Ryan Hunter-Reay  Andretti/Chevy   1m05.6358s  49
2. Simon Pagenaud  Schmidt/Honda  1m05.7965s  +0.1607s   62
3. Will Power   Penske/Chevy  1m05.8206s   +0.1848s   52
4. Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon/Chevy  1m05.9654s   +0.3296s  61
5. Helio Castroneves  Penske/Chevy  1m05.9710s  +0.3352s   50
6. Scott Dixon  Ganassi/Honda  1m06.1025s  +0.4667s  50
7. James Hinchcliffe   Andretti/Chevy  1m06.1100s   +0.4742s  37
8. Justin Wilson   Coyne/Honda  1m06.1541s   +0.5183s  32
9. Marco Andretti  Andretti/Chevy  1m06.1716s  +0.5358s  37
10. Charlie Kimball  Ganassi/Honda  1m06.2360s  +0.6002s  71
11. James Jakes  Rahal/Honda  1m06.2761s  +0.6403s   47
12. Oriol Servia   Panther/Chevy   1m06.3740s   +0.7382s  61
13. Tony Kanaan   KV/Chevy  1m06.4072s  +0.7714s   57
14. Takuma Sato  Foyt/Honda   1m06.4743s   +0.8385s   52
15. EJ Viso  Andretti/Chevy  1m06.5502s  +0.9144s  48
16. Simona de Silvestro  KV/Chevy  1m06.6743s  +1.0385s   48
17. Sebastian Saavedra  Dragon/Chevy  1m06.7436s   +1.1078s   40
18. Luca Filippi   Herta/Honda   1m06.7579s  +1.1221s  56
19. Tristan Vautier  Schmidt/Honda  1m06.8079s   +1.1721s  54
20. Josef Newgarden  Fisher/Honda  1m06.8416s  +1.2058s  32
21. James Davison  Coyne/Honda  1m07.0270s   +1.3912s  39
22. Dario Franchitti   Ganassi/Honda  1m07.1307s  +1.4949s  16
23. Ed Carpenter  Carpenter/Chevy  1m07.5398s  +1.9040s  60
24. Graham Rahal   Rahal/Honda   1m18.6062s  +12.9704s  3