- Helping you drive happy

IndyCar: Dario Franchitti leads the pack at Sonoma

Of the twenty-five IndyCar Series drivers present at the Sonoma Raceway this Wednesday, Dario Franchitti ended up the fastest on the Californian road course.

Franchitti set a time of 1m18.2945 seconds around the road course, closely followed by his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate, Scott Dixon.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay and the Team Penske’s drivers Will Power and Helio Castroneves completed the top 5 of the day.

Newcomer at Barracuda Racing, JR Hildebrand was 18th while James Davison was 23rd in his return to Dale Coyne Racing.

Reigning Americna Le Mans LMP1 champion Lucas Luhr was 25th in Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing’s second Dallara.

Pos. Driver Team Time
1. Dario Franchitti, Ganassi Racing, 1:18.2945
2. Scott Dixon, Ganassi Racing, 1:18.3694
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport, 1:18.4707
4. Will Power, Team Penske, 1:18.5082
5. Helio Castroneves, Team Penske, 1:18.8965
6. James Hinchcliffe, Andretti Autosport, 1:18.9329
7. Marco Andretti, Andretti Autosport, 1:18.9912
8. Sebastien Bourdais, Dragon Racing, 1:19.1274
9. Sebastian Saavedra, Dragon Racing, 1:19.2560
10. Justin Wilson, Dale Coyne Racing, 1:19.2731
11. Simona De Silvestro, KV Racing Technology, 1:19.3386
12. Ryan Briscoe, Panther Racing, 1:19.3941
13. Charlie Kimball, Ganassi Racing, 1:19.4095
14. EJ Viso, Andretti Autosport, 1:19.4495
15. Josef Newgarden, Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing, 1:19.4671
16. Tony Kanaan, KV Racing Technology, 1:19.5319
17. James Jakes, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, 1:19.5426
18. JR Hildebrand, Barracuda Racing, 1:19.6668
19. Graham Rahal, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, 1:19.7022
20. Simon Pagenaud, Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports, 1:19.7100
21. Tristan Vautier, Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, 1:19.9103
22. Takuma Sato, A.J. Foyt Racing, 1:19.9302
23. James Davison, Dale Coyne Racing, 1:20.1534
24. Ed Carpenter, Ed Carpenter Racing, 1:20.2236
25. Lucas Luhr, Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing, 1:20.2262