- Helping you drive happy

IndyCar: Will Power wins controversial race

Team Penske’s Will Power won a controversial IZOD IndyCar race at Sonoma Sunday as the event main contender, Scott Dixon (Ganassi) was penalised for an incident in pit lane.

For the Australian it was a first victory after a 16-month winless streak and Scott Dixon ended-up the biggest loser, finishing 15th and allowing his title opponents Helio Castroneves and Ryan Hunter-Reay to extend their advantage.

IndyCar Justin Wilson
Justin Wilson. (Photo: LAT / IndyCar)

Will Power crossed the finish line 1.1 seconds ahead of Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing).

The incident occurred when Dixon was exiting his pit box and clipped a tire being carried by Power's right-rear tire changer, hitting him and two other crew members.

None were hurt but the Neo-Zealander was penalised and relegated to the 15th spot in a race that he had utterly dominated all afternoon.

For polesitter Dario Franchitti the afternoon had his share of frustration but the Scot still managed to get the third spot. Marco Andretti and Simon Pagenaud completed the top 5.

IndyCar James Hinchcliffe
James Hinchcliffe. (Photo: LAT / IndyCar)

Results - 85 laps:

Pos  Driver  Team/Engine  Time/Gap
1. Will Power   Penske/Chevy  2h20m46.8226s
2. Justin Wilson   Coyne/Honda  +1.1930s
3. Dario Franchitti   Ganassi/Honda  +3.4036s
4. Marco Andretti   Andretti/Chevy  +4.1266s
5. Simon Pagenaud  Schmidt/Honda  +4.7042s
6. Ryan Hunter-Reay   Andretti/Chevy  +5.1074s
7. Helio Castroneves  Penske/Chevy  +8.5383s
8. James Hinchcliffe  Andretti/Chevy  +9.0231s
9. Simona de Silvestro  KV/Chevy   +9.2858s
10. Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon/Chevy  +11.2082s
11. Graham Rahal   Rahal/Honda  +12.0359s
12. Tristan Vautier   Schmidt/Honda  +15.1056s
13. Tony Kanaan  KV/Chevy   +17.7606s
14. EJ Viso   Andretti/Chevy  +18.5207s
15. Scott Dixon   Ganassi/Honda  +20.2165s
16. JR Hildebrand   Herta/Honda  +20.7611s
17. Ryan Briscoe  Panther/Chevy  +29.4788s
18. James Davison   Coyne/Honda  +43.7768s
19. Ed Carpenter   Carpenter/Chevy  +1 lap
20. Charlie Kimball  Ganassi/Honda  +2 laps

Sebastian Saavedra  Dragon/Chevy  81 laps
Lucas Luhr  Fisher/Honda   81 laps
Takuma Sato  Foyt/Honda  67 laps
Josef Newgarden  Fisher/Honda   56 laps
James Jakes  Rahal/Honda  28 laps