- Helping you drive happy

Jaguar F-PACE named 2017 World Car of the Year in New York

Photo: A.Melançon,
Get the best interest rate
André Mélançon
Prestigious award goes to an SUV, which shouldn’t be a surprise

The 2017 World Car of the Year award was given to the superb Jaguar F-PACE during a special ceremony this morning at the New York Auto Show. The other two finalists were the Audi Q5 and Volkswagen Tiguan—that’s right, all SUVs!

Surprised? You shouldn’t be considering the current trends in the automotive marketplace around the globe.

Other winners include:

2017 World Luxury Car of the Year

  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class
  • BMW 5 Series
  • Volvo S90/V90

2017 World Performance Car of the Year

  • Porsche 718 Boxter/718 Cayman
  • Audi R8 V10 Spyder
  • McLaren 570S

2017 World Green Car of the Year

  • Toyota Prius Prime
  • Chevrolet Bolt EV
  • Tesla Model X

2017 World Urban Car of the Year

  • BMW i3
  • Citroen C3
  • Suzuki Ignis

2017 World Car Design of the Year

  • Jaguar F-PACE
  • Mercedes-Benz S-Class Cabriolet
  • Toyota C-HR

The WCOTY jury was made up of 73 renowned automotive journalists from all over the globe.

André Mélançon
André Mélançon
Automotive expert