- Helping you drive happy

Rally: Ford M-Sport confirms Hirvonen, Kubica, Evans

From press release

Team M-Sport will run three Ford Fiesta RS WRC for Mikko Hirvonen, Robert Kubica and Elfyn Evans for all 13 rounds of next season’s World Rally Championship.

Having started his WRC career with the Ford / M-Sport operation in 2003, Mikko Hirvonen enjoyed eight years behind the wheel of M-Sport machinery and was instrumental in securing Ford's back-to-back manufacturers' titles in 2006 and 2007. With fourteen of his fifteen victories claimed with M-Sport's range of award-winning rally cars, Hirvonen's return, after two years as a Citroën Racing driver, also provides the team with a real contender for rally wins.

WRC Mikko Hirvonen M-Sport
Mikko Hirvonen. (Photo: M-Sport)

Occupying the seat of the sister M-Sport Fiesta RS WRC, is one of rallying's most promising up-and-coming young talents. Evans' breakthrough performance in 2013 saw him elevated to the top of WRC competition. The Welshman showcased some impressive pace in the WRC 2 category, but it was arguably his performance at Rally Italia Sardegna which saw him stamp his authority on the world stage.

Robert Kubica and his long-term partner, Lotos also announced their plans for the 2014 FIA World Rally Championship (WRC). The Pole, who secured the WRC2 in 2013 driving a Citroën DS3 RRC before moving up to a DS3 WRC car for the last round of the season in Wales, will contest all 13 rounds of next season's championship with a Lotos-supported Ford Fiesta RS WRC.

WRC Robert Kubica M-Sport
Robert Kubica. (Photo: M-Sport)