- Helping you drive happy

Automatic emergency braking to become standard by 2022

By ,

The U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), together with the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), has just announced that automatic emergency braking (AEB) technology will become standard on virtually all new vehicles by Sept. 1st, 2022 after 20 automakers representing more than 99% of the North American car market agreed to it. 

NHTSA estimates that the agreement will make AEB standard on new cars three years faster than could be achieved through the formal regulatory process. This will prevent 28,000 crashes and 12,000 injuries just in the U.S. according to IIHS estimates.

AEB uses sensors such as radar, cameras or lasers to detect an imminent crash, warn the driver, and apply the brakes if the driver does not take sufficient action quickly enough. It helps prevent crashes or at least reduce their severity. Unfortunately, this system is often unavailable or a costly extra for new-car buyers.

Here are the 20 automakers that agreed to make AEB standard by 2022:

  • Audi
  • BMW
  • FCA
  • Ford
  • General Motors
  • Honda
  • Hyundai
  • Jaguar Land Rover
  • Kia
  • Maserati
  • Mazda
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Porsche
  • Subaru
  • Tesla
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo