- Helping you drive happy

2017 North American Car of the Year: 43 eligible models announced

By ,

The 2017 North American Car, SUV, and Truck of the Year awards will be handed on January 9th at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit. That’s right: With the addition of SUVs, there are now three main categories instead of just two like in the past.

According to Automotive News, the NACOTY committee told the jury in an email that the Chrysler Pacifica minivan will be considered an SUV since it mostly rivals the Toyota Highlander and Ford Explorer. Meanwhile, commercial vehicles will be categorized as trucks.

Three rounds of voting will be necessary to determine the overall winners, with the first taking place in September. The top three finalists in each category will be announced on December 6th.


  • Acura NSX
  • Alfa Romeo Giulia
  • Audi A4
  • Audi R8
  • Bentley Mulsanne
  • Buick Cascada
  • Buick LaCrosse
  • Cadillac CT6
  • Chevrolet Bolt
  • Chevrolet Cruze
  • Fiat 124
  • Genesis G90
  • Hyundai Elantra
  • Infiniti Q60
  • Jaguar XE
  • Kia Cadenza
  • Lincoln Continental
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class
  • Mercedes-Benz S550 Maybach
  • Mercedes-Benz SL Class
  • Mercedes-Benz SLC Class
  • MINI Clubman
  • Mitsubishi Mirage/G4
  • Porsche 718 Boxster and Cayman
  • Rolls-Royce Dawn
  • Toyota Prius Prime
  • Volvo S90


  • Audi Q7
  • Bentley Bentayga
  • Buick Envision
  • Cadillac XT5
  • Chrysler Pacifica
  • GMC Acadia
  • Infiniti QX30
  • Kia Sportage
  • Mercedes-Benz GLS Class
  • Jaguar F-Pace
  • Mazda CX-9
  • Nissan Armada


  • Ford F-series Super Duty 
  • Ford F-150 Raptor
  • Honda Ridgeline
  • Nissan Titan half ton
The winner of the 2016 edition, the Volvo XC90
Photo: Volvo
The winner of the 2016 edition, the Volvo XC90