- Helping you drive happy

2018 Luxury Compact SUV of the Year: Q5, XC60 or E-PACE? will be crowning winners of the 2018 Awards for best vehicles of the year on November 22 in Toronto. We’ve already unveiled the three finalists in each of the 17 categories; today we look in more detail at the Luxury Compact SUV of the Year finalists.

Audi Q5
The second-generation Q5 comes with an updated, ultra-modern look, and it has already earned awards for its suite of technologies. The 2.0L 4-cylinder engine powering it now delivers 252 hp, harnessed by Audi’s excellent 7-speed dual-clutch S tronic transmission and complemented by a new, more-sophisticated version of the legendary quattro all-wheel drive system. This Audi is still a super-competitive SUV, its extremely refined interior designed to seduce all who enter it. More details on the Q5.

Photo: Audi

Volvo XC60
Entirely redesigned, the second-generation XC60 is impressive through and through. It’s got not only the styling but the genes of a luxurious grand tourer, apparent particularly in its well-conceived chassis and cutting-edge safety systems that confirm Volvo’s position of leadership in the domain. Available as an option is semi-automatic driving functionality. Under the hood, the new XC60 comes with T5 and T6 engines whose output ranges from 254 to 320 hp, but its high-end T8 hybrid version (400 hp) is the one that truly crushes the competition. More details on the XC60.

Photo: Volvo

Jaguar E-PACE
Smaller than the 2017 World Car of the Year F-PACE, the Jaguar E-PACE promises a driving experience that gets even closer to that of a sports car, without sacrificing the practical advantages of a genuine SUV. Two 4-cylinder turbo engines are offered, producing 247 hp and 296 hp respectively. Inside, the melding of refinement and sportiness is impeccable. Particular standouts are the Touch Pro infotainment system with 10-inch screen as well as a smorgasbord of advanced safety systems such as emergency braking. More details on the E-PACE.

Photo: Jaguar