- Helping you drive happy

Canadian Karting Championships at Mont-Tremblant

Quality car insurance coverage, at competitive prices.
Ask for a car insurance quote today.
The brand new karting track of Mont-Tremblant, Quebec held the Canadian Karting Championships sponsored by Canadian Tire last weekend.

The track has been built on the main ground of the famous road circuit, just left of the main South gate. The track goes uphill and downhill, and is quite technical, but drivers say it offers very few passing opportunities.

Each class had free practice sessions, one qualifying session, qualifying heat, a pre-finale and a grand finale on Sunday. The National title was therefore decided on just one, decisive race.

It rained pretty hard on Sunday, making the life of the drivers and mechanics difficult, and the circuit was slippery and treacherous.

Rotax Max
Marco Dileo was the fastest of the 49 entries in qualifying. However, veteran Philippe Gélinas won the finale in front of Christophe Boisclair and the Ouellette Bros, Pier-Luc and Hugo.

Canadian Junior
Sean McPhee set the fastest time in qualifying in this class where only 12 people entered. Alex Van Snick won the final race.

Canada Senior
Pearce Herder dominated the category, claiming first place in the timed practices, and claiming victory on Sunday, beating 22 other racers.

Rotax Max Junior
This class had the highest number of entries with 36. The top 21 drivers qualified within a second! Olivier Bédard was the quickest in qualifying, but Lance Stroll, the new Ferrari Academy driver won the finale.

Rotax Micro Max
Antonio Serravalle was the fastest of the 9 participants. James Dean Laderoute won the final race however.

Rotax DD2
That category features Rotax Max engines fitted with a 2-speed gearbox. Darren White ranked first in qualifying but veteran Kyle Herder won the grand finale. Formula 3 competitor Daniel Morad returned to karting for a weekend and raced in this class.

Rotax DD2 Master
Stuart Charles emerged fastest in qualifying but another veteran, Luc Sauriol, powered to first place in the finale. As predicted by, former F1 World Champion Jacques Villeneuve indented to compete in this class, but was unfortunately unable to attend.

Rotax Mini Max
Zachary Claman Demelo led the 20 participants in qualifying, and also won the finale, claiming the Canadian title in this category.