- Helping you drive happy

Olivier Bédard is the 2015 Nissan Micra Cup champion

By ,

The first season of the Nissan Micra Cup is now in the books, and 18-year-old Olivier Bédard is the champion after winning five of the 12 races. He eclipsed Thanaroj Thanasitnitikate, Stefan Rzadzinski, Abhinay Bikkani, Valérie Limoges, and Valérie Chiasson in the overall standings.

Olivier Pelletier, meanwhile, was the top aspiring driver.

“We figured Canada needed a monotype series, and we were proven right with the Nissan Micra Cup,” said series founder and promoter Jacques Deshaies. “The most positive aspect of this inaugural season is the confirmation that we can have a true monotype racing series where drivers’ skills take centre stage, not money.” 

On average, 25 drivers took part in each round of the 2015 Nissan Micra Cup, which features identically modified Nissan Micra S 1.6L cars. 

The 2016 calendar will be released at a later date.